Scientia et Arte

If science were art and art were science, then the howling black wolf has probably swallowed some N-(4-hydroxyphenyl)ethanamide.

Reveries and Wordplay of a Biochemical Angel

I have another poem below! My friends often find me amusing, but difficult to decode, nevertheless. They said I have chronic glossolalia and that I should burn my books. They said I should speak German, instead. They said I would make a perfect Alice. I, who love imagining and writing on  my left arm, have witnessed my skin get inflamed as if too much rubefacient sucrose was rubbed against my arm. Blame the masseuse. I said I was not used to getting body scrubs. But she was necessary…what she did was necessary, else I wouldn’t be writing right now. 

.

.

.

I fell “asleep” and slid down the poem tunnel, where I climbed molecular ladders and worked as a conveyor belt technician. Twenty minutes had already gone down the drain. They were still talking about me. They said I was too poetic…I gave birth to “The Mediator”. 

Biomolecule Visualization with Ellipsoidal Coarse-graining

The Mediator

I am Gemini’s branches –

no – the snake and the bough –

Caduceus.

Slice the belly

to make a child

of a mother’s face

a father’s visage, not.

Kick the baby out for he grows

too fast

A planet, two planets shall

kiss his

slenderness.

They love him

but –

only by microseconds.

Kids in the assembly line,

               Curtains fall – they run away.

“We are not alike,”

               they hear from a distance.

 
(If you think you understand what I have just said, I’ll give you a Friendship Coupon. We could be friends.)
 
 
Image source: http://www.phas.ubc.ca/~steve/BioVEC/Media/Screen_0001_0276.jpg
 
[Post by Ryan Santiago]
One comment on “Reveries and Wordplay of a Biochemical Angel

  1. Pingback: Writing Through the Plume of Ezra Pound (An Imagist Poem on Protein) « Scientia et Arte

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 28, 2012 by in Biochemical Poetry and tagged .
