Scientia et Arte

If science were art and art were science, then the howling black wolf has probably swallowed some N-(4-hydroxyphenyl)ethanamide.

My Dickinsonian Poem on Protein Synthesis

Creativity involves breaking out of established patterns in order to look at things in a different way.
Edward de Bono

(The poem is found below.) Sometimes, four stanzas of breath are enough to “teach” a chapter of a biochemistry book. That is if your left brain is a disciplined kid. Well, your right brain will enjoy this. This is healthful. I hope teachers will use my poems to teach chemistry and biology in class. Not that I think these should replace lectures, but I am certain these can be supplemental. And I’d be thrilled to show poets the way to connect emotionally to science. 

I believe there is hope.

“To run from Thee – to Pee–” (aka Protein Synthesis)

To run from Thee – to Pee –

Requires Chains and Introversion –

Then – a Bud is nipped – you grieve –

To the door – out! – your Reflection –

Midget protects you –

Madonna in the soup

Deny Me your Shadow –

Ravage on the loop –

Hail – St. Patrick –

Exalt – attack

Hold the Cross

Wobble is the new Black –

From a double Cruiser –

Or an Electric Chapel –

Ménage à trois –

Where else do you travel?

I understand that many of you (my dear readers) might find this poem difficult to analyze, but I suggest that you hold on to it. This is the best way I thought would help you learn biochemistry concepts. If you find the way, if you gain wisdom from the words that I breathed into this page, please write more poems and share them to the world. If you do so, my legacy shall live on in the words that you create.

(Please, write your comments in the comment box below. If you need any help, just let me know.)

Image source: http://lcmrschool.org/HS/Roth/Biology_animate/Ch12/ActiveArt2/protein_synthesis.jpg

[Post by Ryan Santiago]

2 comments on “My Dickinsonian Poem on Protein Synthesis

  1. Pingback: Writing Through the Plume of Ezra Pound (An Imagist Poem on Protein) « Scientia et Arte

  2. Pingback: “CANTINERO: SÍRVAME (UN PROZAC) EN LA COPA ROTA”… | DEDOMEDIO EL PLACER ES TUYO

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 28, 2012 by in Biochemical Poetry and tagged , , , , , , .
